The grading system

Legal basis: Section 13 of the Examination Procedure Regulations (PVO)

The grading scale for graded examinations that have been passed ranges from 1.0 for "very good" to 4.0 for "sufficient":

1 = Very good = an excellent achievement,

2 = Good = an achievement that is well above average,

3 = Satisfactory = an average achievement


4 = Sufficient = an achievement that is sufficient despite certain deficiencies.

To differentiate between these grades it is possible to raise or lower each grade by an intermediate value of 0.3. Exceptions to this rule, however, are the grades 0.7, 4.3, 4.7 and 5.3, which are excluded.

A grade of 4.0 or worse is regarded as "not sufficient" (a result that does not meet the requirements due to a significant deficiency). Failed examinations are graded 5.0.

"Calculated" grades can also be raised or lowered by intermediate values other than 0.3. Calculated grades are formed from two or more partial grades for individual examinations, modules, etc. The (degree-specific) Examination Regulations stipulate how the partial grades are incorporated into the module grade, subject grade or overall grade. Only the first decimal place after the decimal point is taken into account here, other decimal places are deleted without being rounded up or down.

The grade is

up to 1.5 = Very good,

from 1.6 to 2.5 = Good,

from 2.6 to 3.5 = Satisfactory,

from 3.6 to 4.0 = Sufficient and

above 4.1 = Not sufficient.